A Brief History of Interlaken Inn
The Interlaken Inn’s site was a prime spot for an inn as this location was on the stagecoach trail that connected Hartford, Connecticut, with Poughkeepsie, New York, and the Hudson River. In the 18th Century, The Interlaken Inn was purported to be a regular stagecoach stop for weary travelers passing through the Taconic Mountain range (Western New York and Eastern Connecticut). Later, in the early 19th Century, vast amounts of raw iron products that were produced in Lakeville / Salisbury, Connecticut, were transported over this same route to the Hudson River for delivery to customers up and down the east coast of the U.S.
Because of the notable quality of Salisbury iron ore, local ore, iron producers and foundries provided 80% of the cannons used by George Washington’s army during the Revolutionary War.
Interlaken Inn was originally developed on its present site from a modest farmhouse erected in 1760. Mr. and Mrs. Shaw purchased this farm property in 1891 and erected the inn, plus four houses adjacent to it. Sunnyside, a now restored Victorian-period structure with multiple guestrooms and fireplaces and a wide wrap-around porch, is the only one of these houses remaining as part of the Inn’s property. The other three dwellings are neighboring homes.
The Shaws operated The Interlaken Inn for 34 years until they sold it to John and Elizabeth Percy in 1924.
When the Percy’s purchased The Interlaken, it lacked modern conveniences. They installed electricity throughout to replace acetylene gas lights, a heating plant, running water and a bath for each guestroom. The Interlaken Inn was transformed into what was considered to be quite modern for that era.
After operating the Inn for over 30 years, the Percy’s decided to retire in 1956. They sold it to Anthony J. Peters. Mr. Peters made considerable modern improvements to the Inn.
A major modernization program of The Interlaken Inn was near completion in the Spring of 1971 when the Inn was totally destroyed in a catastrophic blaze on May 20, which was the week before a planned weekend opening.
The new Interlaken Inn was officially opened in October of 1973 and has since gained a prominent reputation as a quality New England Inn in a resort-like setting between two picturesque lakes.
In May of 1982, Paul and Steven Reisman purchased The Interlaken Inn and decided to expand the services and facilities to provide a conference center, while maintaining the country-like atmosphere of the Inn for all seasons.
Today, The Interlaken Inn is composed of 30 acres in the foothills of The Berkshires, near the wooded shores of Connecticut’s Lake Wonoscopomuc. Guests can swim, boat or fish in the lake. The Inn supplies rowboats, kayaks, and canoes. Other recreational amenities include two all-weather tennis courts, outdoor heated swimming pool, a basketball court, volleyball, and an Executive Hospitality Center, including a large screen TV, a pool table, and an exercise room with treadmills, elliptical machines, steppers, and free weights. Massage services are also available.
The Interlaken Inn www.interlakeninn.com is located in historic Litchfield County, Connecticut, in the foothills of the Berkshires between two picturesque lakes. The property offers 80 first-class guestrooms and award-winning dining. The Interlaken features extensive resort, recreation and fitness facilities. It is located adjacent to Hotchkiss Golf Course, which is recognized as one of Connecticut's most scenic and challenging courses, and near Route 7, Connecticut's renowned antique route.
The Interlaken Inn is 100 miles directly north of New York City on Rt. 112 (Interlaken Road) in Lakeville, Connecticut. Recently the historic property completed an extensive renovation of all its facilities, including its century-old original Victorian building.
Easily accessible from U.S. Routes 7 & 44, The Interlaken is 90 minutes from Albany or Hartford, and just 2-1/2 hours from Boston or Providence.